Flipped

Review # 25
Title: Flipped
Author: Wendelin Van Draanen
Paperback, 224 pages
Published  2003

Flipped is a romance told in two voices. The first time Juli Baker saw Bryce Loski, she flipped. The first time Bryce saw Juli, he ran. That’s pretty much the pattern for these two neighbors until the eighth grade, when, just as Juli is realizing Bryce isn’t as wonderful as she thought, Bryce is starting to see that Juli is pretty amazing. How these two teens manage to see beyond the surface of things and come together makes for a comic and poignant romance.

This is perhaps the best book I’ve read this year. The joys and pains of young love, sweet love. When I first read Bryce’s description and “hatred” with Juli, I actually didn’t like Juli too. I shared Bryce’s ill feelings for her.

But when I read Juli’s side, it was like my emotions flipped too! I loved how their characters were developed in six years, how they managed to find one another in the end. Thanks to Grandpa Chuck, the eggs and the sycamore tree.

Flipped has been also made into a movie, wich, up until now, I haven’t seen. I better watch it soon! The book version was told in alternating chapters and it centered around either Juli or Bryce. Author Wendelin Van Draanen captured their feelings perfectly. The same thing might happen to both of them, yet they have almost opposite ways of reacting. This is one of the books that has really good characterization.
A really really good book! My rating: 5 Bookmarks! Yay!!
Leave a Reply

