Kiss an Angel

Title: Kiss an Angel
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips

Paperback, 384 pages
Published February 1st 1996

How did pretty, flighty Daisy Devreaux find herself in this fix? She can either go to jail or marry the mystery man her father has chosen for her. Alex Markov, however, has no intention of playing the loving bridegroom to a spoiled little featherhead with champagne tastes. As humorless as he is deadly handsome, he drags the irrepressible Daisy away from her uptown life and sets out to tame her.


Except it won’t be as easy as he thinks. This man without a soul has met a woman who’s nothing but heart. Will vows spoken in haste shatter . . . or offer the promise of love everlasting?

This was my first book by Susan Elizabeth Phillips and what a great read it was!

I fell in love with all of the characters in this story, although the tale about Alex Markov’s Romanov history is a bit ridiculous. Now, Theodosia aka Daisy is another story. Inasmuch as I hate his father, I guess arranging a marriage with an honorable Russian man did her good. He offered Alex her daughter Daisy and let him “discipline her” in their 6-months marriage. Alex obliged but he got other things on his mind on how to tame her. Everything changed when “studmuffin” Alex changed from his gorgeous wedding tuxedo into a Marlboro outfit.. YiiiHa!!

Meeting other “circus” characters was something Daisy needed since being with animals helped her overcome her fear of them. There’s the Siberian tiger, the mischievous baby elephant who got enamored with Daisy’s perfume and a loving gorilla named Glenna.

Of course, what’s a good book without the villains? Although I don’t consider Sheba as the main antagonist in the story, because she had a change of heart somewhere in the end.

I can’t put the book down! This is one of those books you don’t want to end and when it does the characters stay with you long after the last page is read. I am excited to pick up another SEP book. SEP got me laughing and rolling with her brilliantly executed dialogues like:

“What are you gonna do, angel face? Stab me with your eyebrow pencil?  

“He shook his head. “The next time I hear a women going on about how neurotic men are, I’m going to remember this. You tell me you like my body, and what do I say? I say, thank you. Then I tell you I like yours and what do I hear? A long lists of grievances.”  

“I take thee… to be my awful wedded husband” 

and the best line that got me teary-eyed is:

“I don’t love you anymore”, she whispered. “I don’t love you at all.” His throat closed. “It’s all right, sweetheart. I love you enough for both of us.

Hoping to read more Susan Elizabeth Phillips soon!

Leave a Reply

