4 stars · book reviews · fantasy YA

Dead Girl Walking

Title: Dead Girl WalkingDeadGirlWalking
(Royal Reaper #1)
Author: Ruth Silver
Kindle Edition, 120 pages
Published April 24th 2014



Forget everything you know about grim reapers. Princess Ophelia Dacre sneaks out of the castle to visit her boyfriend in secret. A perfect night cut short when she’s brutally murdered. Ophelia is given the rare chance to become a grim reaper. She must become Leila Bele, cut ties with her old life, and follow the rules of the reapers. Her greatest adventure begins with death.



‘Tis my first time to read a story about reapers & I’m glad this had been a royally pleasant one. I expected it to be original & fast-paced; and I wasn’t disappointed at all!

Princess Ophelia Dacre sneaks out of her room at night to meet up with her commoner lover, Larkin. This has been her routine for a year; until one night, she fails to return home. She’s been unceremoniously murdered outside a tavern where she & Larkin usually meet. Right after she dies, she soon meets Edon, the highest among the grim reapers & asks her to be one of them.

Enter Violetta, Emblyn, Jasper & Wynter. Ophelia changes her name to Leila and soon becomes part of the motley crew of grim reapers. A job with so many rules, most of these Leila has broken, with the aid of her newfound friends. At first, she struggles with the thought of hobnobbing with people who are about to die and reaping their souls after their death, especially when she has to do it with a child. Soon, she’s able to reap souls accordingly, until her own sister, Princess Mara, appears on the scroll of death.

What I initially knew about grim reapers was totally different in this book & I actually liked it. Grim reapers guiding lost souls, fallen angels of death crying out in asylums, princesses getting murdered – these really got my attention. Fresh, unique, enticing, dark & gripping! Those are some qualities I look for in a novel & Ruth Silver totally nailed it. Can’t wait to read the next book in the series!

*i received this book in exchange for an honest review.*



ruthsilver Ruth Silver first began writing poetry as a teenager and reading heaps of fan fiction in her free time. She has written under three unique pseudo names and penned well over a hundred stories.

She attended Northern Illinois University in 2001 and graduated with a Bachelor’s in Communication. While in college she spent much of her free time writing with friends she met online and penning her first novel, “Deuces are Wild”, which she self-published in 2004. Her favorite class was Creative Writing senior year where she often handed in assignments longer than the professor required because she loved to write and always wanted to finish her stories.

Her love of writing, led her on an adventure in 2007 to Melbourne, Australia. Silver enjoys reading YA novels and sharing her favorite books with other readers. She runs her own book blog and also enjoys photography and traveling.

Her favorite YA genre is a mix of Dystopian & Fantasy which is evident in the upcoming release of her latest book, Aberrant. Slated for release April 2013 by Lazy Day Publishing, it is the first in a trilogy.

2 thoughts on “Dead Girl Walking

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s