Book Review: Fractured Dream by KM Randall

Title: Fractured Dreamfractureddream
(The Dreamer Saga #1)
Author: K.M. Randall
Kindle edition; 430 pages
Published June 2014

BlurbHave you ever wondered where fairytales go once they’re created?

It’s been eight years since Story Sparks last had a dream. Now they’re back, tormenting her as nightmares she can’t remember upon waking. The black waters of Lake Sandeen, where her Uncle Peter disappeared decades before, may hold the secret to Story’s hidden memories, or a truth she’d rather not know. On a bright summer afternoon, Story and her two best friends, Elliot and Adam, take a hike to the lake, where they dive into the cool water and never reemerge. What they find is beyond anything they’ve ever imagined could be possible, a world where dangers lurk in the form of Big Bad Wolves, living Nightmares and meddlesome witches and gods.

Now Story must remember who she really is and somehow stop two worlds from ultimate annihilation, all while trying not to be too distracted by the inexplicable pull she feels toward a certain dark-eyed traveler who seems to have secrets of his own. The fates of the worlds are counting on her.

 

MyReview

Two minutes into reading the prologue, I thought the book is giving me the creeps.With my interest piqued, I continued reading about Story & I was soon blown away by the author’s wild & marvelous imagination. Fractured Dream, in my opinion, is the adventure of a lifetime & K.M. Randall is the Queen of all Fairytales!

Story, the Dreamer, the female protagonist, has a lot of stories to tell, literally. At first, when I saw the name, I told myself, Story is her name? Well, that’s a first! And when I finished the first chapter, I was sold! I didn’t stop until I finally learn about Story and her real story, why the lake stole lives, what really happened to her uncle, who was Jess and why did Story seem like she had a split personality? Those questions were eventually answered when she and her friends Elliot & Adam were taken to an “underwater wonderland” (Elliot’s words, not mine).

But as I devoured the pages, a lot more questions popped up on my mind. There were a lot of fairytale characters in the book, I admit I had a hard time keeping up, (with Bliss, Nicholas, Red, Big Bad Wolfe, Oafs, etc) but the novel was so enchanting that I was utterly entertained until the end. No dull moments, no dead air, no complaints at all! Ok wait, I wrote “until the end”, but the truth is there was no The End to the story because there are still a lot more adventures to come. Story still has got a lot of lives to meet and save. And we, the Storytellers, are in for more thrilling & fantastic surprises, the author made sure of that!

*NOTE: I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.*

about author

 

K.M. Randall
website: http://www.kmrandallauthor.com
twitter username: KM_Randall
genre: Fantasy, Fiction

About K.M. Randall
As a girl, K.M. always wished she’d suddenly come into magical powers or cross over into a Faerie circle. Although that has yet to happen, she instead lives vicariously through the characters she creates in writing fantasy and delving into the paranormal. When K.M. is not busy writing her next novel, she is the editor-in-chief of a blog covering the media industry, as well as an editor with Booktrope Publishing. She has a master’s degree in journalism from Syracuse University and a bachelor’s degree in English-Lit from Nazareth College of Rochester. K.M. lives in Upstate New York’s Finger Lakes region with her husband and her extremely energetic little boy. Fractured Dream is her first novel.

Leave a Reply

