book reviews · series · vampires

Afterlife by Claudia Gray

Title: Afterlife
Series: Evernight #4
Author: Claudia Gray
Paperback, 368 pages
Published 2011 by Harper Collins

Destiny awaits Bianca and Lucas . . .

Bianca and Lucas have always believed they could endure anything to be together. When a twist of fate not only transforms Bianca into a wraith but also turns Lucas into a vampire—the very creature he spent his life hunting—they are left reeling.

Haunted by his powerful need to kill, Lucas can turn to only one place for help . . . Evernight Academy. Bianca is determined to remain with him. But with the vampire leader of Evernight waging a war against wraiths, her former home has become the most dangerous place she could be, despite the new powers her ghostly transformation has given her.

A battle between wraiths and vampires looms, and Bianca and Lucas face a terrifying new reality. They’ve overcome every obstacle life has thrown at them, but is their love strong enough to survive the challenges after life?

On the 4th and last Evernight installment, Bianca has become a ghost – a wraith and my dear Lucas is turning into a vampire, the one thing he never wanted to be. Their last hope: going back to Evernight. Together they ventured their lives and afterlife, in the hands of the people who would likely destroy them. And together, they would realize if their love for each other is enough to keep them alive.

I honestly don’t think this was the best book or the best ending in the series. I was hoping for a more upbeat and nerve wracking that would have me gripping on my seat. I was waiting for that moment where I would be screaming and sweating with anticipation. But, no. There were no fireworks nor explosions. Except for Mrs. Bethany who stole the limelight in this book. I was hoping for Balthazar to be with Bianca in the end, but no can do. I guess I expected too much. But then again, I’m glad I was able to finish this series and my curiosity was filled.

(There’s a separate novella spun-off from this series, entitled Balthazar. Now that is something I look forward to read, soon!)

Other books in the series:

Evernight # 1

Stargazer (Evernight 2) 

Hourglass (Evernight 3)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s