Peter and the Starcatchers # 1

PeterStarCatcherTitle: Peter and the Starcatchers
Series: Peter and the Starcatchers #1
Authors: Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson
Illustrations by Greg Call

Don’t even think of starting this book unless you’re sitting in a comfortable chair and have lots of time. A fast-paced, impossible-to-put-down adventure awaits as the young orphan Peter and his mates are dispatched to an island ruled by the evil King Zarboff. They set sail aboard the Never Land, a ship carrying a precious and mysterious trunk in its cargo hold, and the journey quickly becomes fraught with excitement and danger.
Discover richly developed characters in the sweet but sophisticated Molly, the scary but familiar Black Stache, and the fearless Peter. Treacherous battles with pirates, foreboding thunderstorms at sea, and evocative writing immerses the reader in a story that slowly and finally reveals the secrets and mysteries of the beloved Peter Pan.

We’ve all heard, watched & read about Wendy, Tinkerbell, Hook, Peter Pan and the Lost Boys. But are we familiar with Peter Pan’s & the Neverland’s origin? Well, this book by Barry & Pearson is the closest & most perfect story to tell.

Eversince I was a child, Peter Pan has always been one of my favorite characters. If Cinderella was my favorite princess, Peter Pan was my hero. I think I’ve watched all the Peter Pan films there is. When I recognized David Barry’s name on this particular book in our local bookstore, I knew at once that this was about Peter Pan. I instantly grabbed this paperback and I thought my kids would like him. And boy, what a perfect & brilliant story this had been.

I loved Molly Aster and her admirable personality. She’s a major star in her own right, especially how she had helped Peter and his friends during their voyage. The story was believable in a magical way, that I actually thought this is Peter’s real beginnings! The mermaids, the treasures, the pirates, the starstuffs – they were all fascinating and delightful. I read this book to my kids and we didn’t care if the book was more than 400 pages long. My sons thought pirates are the coolest villains ever. They proclaimed Peter Pan as their newest favorite hero and after reading the book, they loved him even more! Can’t wait to read their next adventures!

One thought on “Peter and the Starcatchers # 1

Leave a Reply

